Museum opening hours: Please Call

Our history

About The Bridgeport Historical Society

As people often do, we tend to forget the past and concentrate on the future until we reach an age when life’s final doors are closing around us. In 1994, a group of interested citizens became concerned that much of the town’s history would be lost in the name of progress. As a result , the Bridgeport Historical Society was formed. Attendees in the beginning were Wanda Dixon, Ann Scott, Joe Jackson, Ed Cowling, Benny Trammel, Linda Saylor , Addie Ruth Green, Steve Curley and Frank (Petie) Bordner. In 1995 additional people beginning to attend were Kathy Stinnet, Pasty Sides, Ann Nimmo , Pat Younger, Virginia Wood, Bill Paschal, Nevesta Jones, Roy Slonaker and Maria Umland. In November of 1995, the first set of officers were elected and installed. The first meetings were held at the Bull Pen (South of Brock Insurance Office) and later moved to the Peach Tree.

Upcoming Events

The original officers were:

Ann Nimmo President

Linda Saylor Vice President

Virginia Wood Secretary

Kathy Stinnet Treasurer

Roy Slonaker Reporter

From humble beginnings (about ten members and $5.00 dues) this society has grown because of the efforts of a few dedicated, hard working and tireless individuals who realized the importance of the trials and tribulations, hopes and discoveries of our ancestors.

The Society’s primary purpose is to rediscover, perpetuate, and/or preserve the history the area of Wise County known as Bridgeport and its surroundings. The organization has grown steadily since its beginning.

The society has marked about a dozen historical sites throughout the city with plaques, and the State of Texas has recognized four of the sites. These sites can be viewed on the City Historical Sites and the State Historical Marker sections of this site.

The Bridgeport Historical Society sponsors a number of fund raising events during the year and they are documented under the Special Events section of this site.


Ann Nimmo

Gary Potts

Royce Raven

Virginia Wood

Ken Specker

Our Team

  • Don Majka

  • Patsy Stinnett

  • Kathy Stinnett

  • Donna Munn

  • Pat Stegall

Copyright 2021 Bridgeport Historical Society, All Rights Reserved